About Barbados

The island, which is less than one million years old, was created by the collision of the Atlantic crystal and Caribbean plates, along with a volcanic eruption. Later coral formed, accumulating to approximately 300 feet. It is geologically unique, being actually two land masses that merged together over the years. Barbados is the eastern-most Caribbean island located at 13.4N, 54.4W, and Bridgetown is its capital. With eleven parishes, Barbados is 166 square miles. Ten of its parishes are named after Saints:

  • Saint Andrew
  • Saint Michael
  • Saint George
  • Saint Peter
  • Saint James
  • Saint Philip
  • Saint John
  • Saint Thomas
  • Saint Joseph Christ Church
  • Saint Lucy

The first English ship touched the island on May 14th 1625 under the command of Captain John Powell. The island was therefore claimed on behalf of King James I. On February 17th 1627, Captain Henry Powell landed with a party of 80 settlers and 10 slaves to occupy and settle the island. This expedition landed in Holetown, formerly known as Jamestown. The colonists established a House of Assembly in 1639. Barbados has the third oldest parliament in the world with over 360 years of an uninterrupted parliamentary system of government. The Island gained independence from Britain in 1966, and maintains ties to the British monarch represented in Barbados by the Governor General. Barbados is a member of the Commonwealth. Our Government is a democratically elected, parliamentary form of government, based on the British System. English is our official language.

Enjoy the history, beauty, and hospitality of Barbados!